My next 25th anniversary celebration review is one of the guiltiest guilty pleasures I’ve ever had. Even though I was listening to strictly Seattle grunge and some old school hip hop at this point in my life, there was one live album that I found constantly in my CD player. Yanni Live at the Acropolis was a royal spectacle. Performed over three nights at the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in ancient Athens, this “don’t-call-it-new-age” show was a solid potpourri of genres, basically revolutionizing classical, synth pop, jam rock, and even some metal into one big mix of awesome. I couldn’t imagine this album without the backing of Shardad Rohani and the Royal Philharmonic Concert Orchestra.

Continue reading “All Songs Ranked: Yanni Live at the Acropolis”

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of one of the most noted industrial albums of all time, I have ranked all the songs from the original release.

This was a very tough album to categorize because, full disclosure, I’m not the biggest fan of industrial rock and electronica.  Having said that, I still believe this is a very important album during the 1990’s, and thus, deserves to be recognized on this day.  Please forgive me if I miss the point of anything because, again, this isn’t my regular style.

Continue reading “All Songs Ranked: The Downward Spiral”

Honorable Mention – Any Queen Song (thanks, Bohemian Rhapsody!)

10) (tie) Weezer – Africa *and* Toto – Hashpipe
9) Stranger Danger – Tauk
8) Quiet, the Winter Harbor – Mazzy Star
7) Worst Nites – Foster the People
6) Get Out – CHVRCHES
5) Big Sky – The Wild Feathers
4) Do Not Disturb – Halestorm
3) Visions – Dirty Heads
2) No Roots – Alice Merton

…and number one by leaps and bounds, and oh my how sad this one is…

1) Nothing Compares 2 U – Toni & Chris Cornell

I cannot believe what an incredible process this has been.  I feel like a whole new human being with so many of the techniques I have practiced this week.  Really, I’ve only scratched the surface when it comes to self love.

I am going to continue finding ways to implement what I learned this week into my daily life.  The five things I have listed below are my top priorities in the future, when it comes to inner healing and self love.  I highly recommend these.  Again, this changed me so much.  I’m by no means completely healed, but I had zero (0) incidents this week of any kind, at a point in my life where incidents have increased, well, a lot.  Enjoy!

5. Be wary of social media

In my opinion, the human mind is not completely capable of handling social media sites such as Twitter and Facebook.  The constant barrage of material is just too much for the brain to handle.  See what people are doing, see what’s happening in the world, and then let the rest go.  It will be just fine.

4. Stand up above your weaknesses

Find out what is causing you to become weak and stop doing it.  We all have vices, addictions, distractions that cause us to become weaker, prone to mistakes, prone to defeats.  Get rid of them.  It is tough, but you’re tougher.  Some things may cause me to want to relapse.  But I will not let that happen anymore.  Beat these things and you’ll become unstoppable.

3. Appreciate everything you have

Everything can disappear in a heartbeat.  Take the time to remind everyone you care about that you care about them.  Don’t take your home for granted.  Don’t take your health for granted.  Love as much as you can because so many people will never reciprocate that.

2. Listen to Music

This may seem like a given, but there is more to it than that.  Find the music that takes you off this planet, and listen to that.  Become part of it.  Music heals.

1. Make love to yourself

Wait, what!?!  That’s gross.  Nah, it’s not what you think (kind of).  Imagine you’re going out on a date, and you really want to impress them, I mean really want to impress them.  You turn on your A game, and you put your best foot forward.  Set aside time to do that to yourself.  Give yourself your own A game.  You’ll appreciate it more than you’ll ever realize.

Task: Make a declaration on social media